Wadden sea (Germany)

Wadden sea (Germany)

The Wadden Sea (Dutch: Waddenzee, German: Wattenmeer, Low German: Wattensee, Danish: Waassee) is a tidal zone in the south-east of the North Sea. The area between the northern waters of continental Europe and the Friars islands is muddy and wetlands. The region, which is rich in terms of biodiversity, was taken to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2009. [1]

The Wadden Sea, which extends from Den Helder in the Netherlands to Skallingen on the northern coast of Germany, is about 500 km long and covers an area of ​​10,000 km².

The islands in the Wadden Sea are called “Wadden Sea Islands” or “Friez Island”. However, the Friars who gave this name to the island were never found in Texel, the westernmost part of the region. Heligoland, a place where friezes live intensively, is not included in the Friars’ Islands.

The German side of the Wadden Sea was the subject of Erskine Childers’ 1903 novel “The Riddle of the Sands.” The book deals with the visual elements of the region in detail.
Wad means “muddy field” (Low German and German: Watt, Danca: Maturity) in the Netherlands. The region contains the muddy fields, deep slits and islands that form as a result of the tides. It is believed that the region is formed by the transport of the turban behind the coastal sand dunes as a consequence of storms during the 10th and 14th centuries.
Salt and muddy fields in Westerhever, Germany
The islands are located between the sand dunes and the wide sandy beaches that stretch along the North Sea and the low tide coast to the Wadden Sea. The transport of the tide accumulated in the seabed due to the waves and the currents has caused some changes in the positions of the islands over time. The movements between the islands of Vlieland and Ameland are examples of this.

The Wadden Sea has gained fame and fortitude. Hundreds of thousands of spiders, ducks and swans on the way to migration, the region, gulls and sumrugillere also provide a qualified living area. [2] A large part of the Wadden Sea has been jointly protected by three countries. The German territory of the protected area is within the boundaries of the Wadden Sea National Park.
Terschelling, port seals in the Netherlands
The governments of the Netherlands, Denmark and Germany have been working together since 1978 to protect the Wadden Sea. The business association covering management, monitoring and research pioneered the “Joint Statement on the Protection of the Wadden Sea” signed in 1982. In 1997, the Tripartite Wadden Sea Plan was adopted. [3]

The Wadden Sea won the Ramsar field status on May 14, 1987.

The area was included in UNESCO World Heritage in 2009. [4]