The Church of Our Lady (Belgium)
The Church of Our Lady (Dutch: Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk) is a church in Bruges, Belgium, mainly dating from the 13th, 14th and 15th centuries.
Its tower is 122.3 meters high and stands as the tallest building in the city and the second longest brick tower in the world (the longest being the “Church of St. Martin, Landshut” in Landshut, Germany).
The chorale behind the high altar is the tomb of Daslak Karl and the next Valois Duke of Burgois and her daughter, the fall of Mary. Both the father and daughter’s gilded descriptions provide a comfortable peace of mind on the thick slice of polished black stone. Both are crowned, and Charles is depicted with all his weapons and an ornament made from beneath the leaves.
Near the apse near the south side of the broad chapel is the statue of Madonna and the child, built by Michelangelo around 1504. The sculpture was originally bought by Jan and Alexander Mouscron, originally designed for the Cathedral of Siena, a merchant merchant in Italy, and donated to the present place in 1514. After the statue was looted twice (about 1794, the invasion of foreign French revolutionaries and the Nazi Germans in 1944).